Thanksgiving

Get innovations here.
borntolose

Thanksgiving

Post by borntolose »

Hi, I have been doing LDL for about 1 1/2 months and have lost 14 pounds. Thanksgiving is coming up and although I would like to eat a traditional Thanksgiving dinner, I want to stay on my diet more. Do you have any suggestions of things we can eat that will give us the illution of having a traditional dinner but without all the fat and sweets? Any help is extremely appreciated as I still have 50+ pounds to lose and I want to keep the weight coming off. 
t-rock
Master Member

Re: Thanksgiving

Post by t-rock »

Hi Borntolose (although for some reason a Springsteen song immediately pops in to my head):

For Thanksgiving, it's just me and my husband this year, and I have been thinking about how to "make it work", without either of us feeling deprived.

-Turkey breast, brined, with herbs and olive oil under the skin.
-Butter bean/cauliflower "mashed potatoes"...made with chicken stock, a little ff sour cream, and olive oil or earth balance spread
-homemade cranberry sauce made with cooking splenda
-gravy made with chicken stock, some pureed beans, and spices of choice
-caramelized onions made with onions and chicken stock (takes a long time on the stove)
-and lots of vegetables of choice...broccoli, carrots with dill, brussel sprouts
-maybe make those gingerbread brownies on the site as a substitute for pumpkin pie, and add a little ff cool whip as a treat ?
-stuffing will probably be the hardest part, but maybe you could do something with some dark brown rice, celery, sage, onion, and  dried cherries ?

Emjoy! I know I will be thankful for LDL....
VickiLynn
Master Member

Post by VickiLynn »

Welcome Borntolose!