Sweetpea's Burrito Soup

All our yummy soup recipes!
Sweetpea

Sweetpea's Burrito Soup

Post by Sweetpea »

First of all... I am new to this, so if I am repeating an already existing soup I apologize.

I've been doing LDL less than a week and the other night I was craving something creamy and yummy for dinner. The soup recipes on here sounded great, but I didn't have all the ingredients.. so I went to my cupboard and this is what I had.. and used to make my soup.

1 16 oz. can of Great Northern beans (pintos would be great, but I didn't have any)
1 6oz can of V-8 juice
1 tsp of Taco Seasoning
1 C. Diced Tomatoes

I simply used my potato masher to PARTIALLY mash the beans (you want come chunks) put it in my little pot, added the v-8, the diced tomatoes and the taco seasoning, simmered it over med. heat for about 15 mins and it was ready to eat!

FAST, EASY and only 4 ingredients...
If you want to make it for more than one person (this was only 2 bowls worth) simply double or triple the recipe.

TIPS FOR TOPPINGS:
Craving sour cream? blend up just a little bit of ff cottage cheese and put a little dollop on top.
or, use a slice of ff borden cheddar on top...

PS:I'm gonna put a few black olives on mine next time!
If you meet me and forget me, you have lost nothing, but if you meet Jesus Christ and forget Him, you have lost everything!

Sweetpea

Re: Sweetpea's Burrito Soup

Post by Sweetpea »

:blush: oops.. I have a confession to make..
This was indeed a 5 ingredient soup. I forgot to list that I put a Cup of frozen corn in. Sorry.
Gee, I guess you could brown some Turkey, Chicken or lean Beef for this too... but as I said, I was in a hurry and only had a few ingredients.. I promise, it's good just like it is.. but if you want something hardier, add meat!

Thanks for your patience with a newbie!
Last edited by Sweetpea on August 19th, 2009, 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.