protein

The place to go if you have a question that needs answered!
golordgo

protein

Post by golordgo »

Hi, I have a question regarding protein . I have been doing strength training workouts along with kick-boxing and have been told that I need protein with every meal and since proteins fill us up and make us less hungry ,shouldn't we have it for every meal so we won't be snacking ?  Roger says we can not have snacks so when can we have the treats ?(I can't wait to try some of these !) Doctor says I am on my way to DM type 2 so I am concern about eating so much fruit without the protein. Thanks for your response and God Bless !!Skim milk as less calories then juices , why can't we use this for smoothies ?  Thanks I am a newbie ! Deb
crickadoodle
Master Member

Re: protein

Post by crickadoodle »

Well, Deb, you have a lot of questions!  :D  You do need protein, but it isn't necessary to have at every meal.  Beans are protein, though, and you could have that at every meal if you'd like.  Now, if you are just starting it is fine to snack, because we don't want you to be hungry.  If you are hungry, you can tend to make bad choices.  About the skim milk and juice -- I don't have either, but I don't make smoothies.  Dairy is limited to occasional.  There are lots of food that have calcium besides dairy.  What is DM type 2?  I would imagine Type 2 diabetes, maybe.  There are lots of diabetics who follow this WOE and many have gotten their blood sugar under control because of eating this way.  So, I'd say it is a good thing you found this way of eating before you actually are diabetic.  :thumbsup: